Who we are

The Association of County & City Councils is a networking organisation for the councillors who form the elected councils of the thirty-four county and city councils in the Republic of Ireland. The Association organises a programme of meetings which help members give voice to current issues in council life. The Association also lobbies central government on new policy and legislation which impact on councillors' activities. The ACCC is a representative association - it does not have any co-ordinating or supervisory role as regards the member councils.


Each of the 34 county and city councils sends three representatives to the plenary council of the ACCC which meets on a bimonthly basis. The plenary meeting in turn elects a President and an Executive Committee.


The roots of the Association go back to 1899 when it was founded under the title of General Council of County Councils as a representative body for the newly formed county councils and the newly democraticsed county borough councils. Under that title it had some impact in Irish politics in the early years of the 20th century. In 2007 the name was changed Association of County & City Councils to represent a more modern outlook.

Sir Thomas Grattan-Esmonde
of Wexford County Council
First Chairman of the
General Council of County Councils 22 August 1899

Councillors of Today

Delegates at first meeting of general council 22nd August 1899, Dublin

Newspaper editorials on first meeting of general council

110th Anniversary for ACCC!

Cumann Comhairlí Contae is Cathrach
(formerly known as the General Council of County Councils)